Support for the Safe Communities Act – Email Format

By on May 17, 2017

Please take a moment to send an email to the members of the Public Safety and Homeland Security Committee, below you’ll find a template of the email.

Follow the 4 STEPS instructions in BLUE.

1. COPY EMAIL ADDRESSES TO THE EMAIL:

Bruce.Ayers@mahouse.gov, Harold.Naughton@mahouse.gov, Alan.Silvia@mahouse.gov, Thomas.Walsh@mahouse.gov, James.Dwyer@mahouse.gov, Rady.Mom@mahouse.gov, Paul.Tucker@mahouse.gov, Chynah.Tyler@mahouse.gov, Bud.Williams@mahouse.gov, David.Vieira@mahouse.gov, David.Muradian@mahouse.gov, Peter.Durant@mahouse.gov, Juana.Matias@mahouse.gov

2. COPY TO SUBJECT OF THE EMAIL
Support for the Safe Communities Act

3. COPY THE TEXT BELOW TO THE BODY OF THE EMAIL

I am writing as a voter and concerned citizen who values the role of police in protecting all state residents. I would urge you to support the Safe Communities Act (S.1305 and H.3269). I’d like to correct some circulating misconceptions about the bill.

Some key points to note (in response to opponents’ misinformation):

The Safe Communities Act helps law enforcement protect our communities. It does not limit or impact the ability of police to investigate or prosecute crime, which is why it has the support of Chelsea Police Chief Brian Kyes. Data shows that jurisdictions with community policing policies that limit collaboration with U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) have lower rates of violent crime and property crime than jurisdictions without these policies, and that immigrants are far more law-abiding than the native-born.

The Safe Communities Act does not prevent ICE from conducting immigration enforcement. That’s the federal government’s job, not the job of local and state government or police. Nothing in the Safe Communities Act prevents police from communicating with ICE, the FBI, or other federal agencies about anyone in police custody, consistent with federal law 8 U.S.C. s. 1373. This is a regular part of the booking practice, and the SCA does not change this.

What the Safe Communities Act DOES do is make sure we’re not using local resources to do ICE’s job for them, on the public’s dime. Instead we need to support community policing policies that put public safety and public resources first. The federal government does not reimburse local communities for detaining immigrants for civil immigration violations.

Data from Houston shows that when immigrant victims and witnesses fear police, they don’t come forward to report crimes, which is why the Houston police chief has spoken out against legislation penalizing cities for good community policing policies. Undocumented immigrants may qualify for a U-visa if they’re victims of a crime, but first they have to feel safe reporting the crime!

The Safe Communities Act is consistent with federal law – both 8 U.S.C. s. 1373, and 8 U.S.C. 1324 (which is an inapplicable anti-smuggling statute).

Threats by the federal government to “defund” sanctuary cities have no legal basis, as was demonstrated by the nationwide injunction by the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of California, enjoining the federal government from acting against undefined “sanctuary jurisdictions” in violation of the 10th and 5th Amendments to the U.S. Constitution.

Our Commonwealth thrives when it welcomes all and works for all. The Safe Communities Act will help us realize such potential.  I hope you will pass it out of the committee as soon as possible and work for its final passage.

Thank you in advance for your attention to this matter.

4. Put NAME AND ADDRESS here,

 


 

To learn more about the bill visit: the MA Legislature page here.